top of page

Saturday Surprises

Saturday Surprises

Fresh off an exhilarating and empowering trip to Havasu Falls and the Grand Canyon, it was time once again to challenge my nemesis: Colchuck Lake in the winter.

Now mind you, Colchuck in the winter is a completely different beast than you’ll find in the glorious days of summer. For a winter trek, add 8 miles roundtrip on the forest road as this road is not plowed during the winter. Tack on 1,500 feet of elevation gain, plodding through the snow in snowshoes, sinking 4-6 inches per step, or later in the day post holing even deeper, and it's pretty clear why most people don't head this way.

Once you’ve made it to the trailhead, the real fun begins. Water crossings, snow bridges, and man-made bridges overflowing with snow – making you think twice if you should cross. The payoff – a surreal setting of quiet and serenity as hardly anyone ventures out this far in the winter.

Knowledge of the trail comes in handy as of course the summer trail is buried under 6-8 feet of snow. Having been this way numerous times, it is nice to recognize the route through the trees and rock formations.

In 4 previous winter attempts, I was stymied in my attempt to reach the lake. Weather and trail conditions halted those attempts, as trekking solo in the winter brings a completely different set of conditions, decisions and judgements.

Let’s just say breaking through a snow bridge into icy waters, or getting sucked into a chest-deep tree well are not the types of things most people want to experience – especially when it could be hours, or days, before anyone else comes along.

My recent Arizona experiences had me all ramped up and ready to conquer on this beautiful PNW spring day. It’s usually the case that every day I venture out, I’m treated to something new and exciting – but little did I know what was in store for this day.

When I’m out solo, deep in the wilderness, I’ve always got my head on a swivel. I want to be as aware of my surroundings as possible. I’m not really interested in spooking any wildlife that might then want to remind me that I’m just visiting their home.

Well, at 1 ½ miles in to my day, I turned to look behind me once again, and there he was – Mr. Inquisitive Coyote. He was clearly interested as I wasn’t able to spook him into heading off my heels. He tracked me for 1 ½ miles before I decided it was time to give him the slip…..I just wasn’t interested in his companionship, especially the 20-30 yard distance he seemed to enjoy.

That little encountered made me think – what if it wasn’t Mr. Coyote? What if Ms. Cougar was out there? Or worse. Lesson #1 of the day – I was woefully unprepared to meet something potentially more vicious. Note to self: no more lack of education and preparedness.

Having now reached the trailhead, I was eager to punch out the next 2 ¼ miles as I knew the trail would be good up until that point, and the real adventure would then hit another level as the lake would be within 2 miles.

It is a beautiful section of trail as Mountaineer Creek winds it’s way most of this section. The super sturdy wooden bridge of the summer is replaced by a fully covered bridge – the first time I ever crossed this bridge in the winter I crawled across, as one misstep meant big trouble. More confident and experienced now, I simply cross, but it is always a beautiful crossing and brings back memories of how much I've done and learned in the past couple of years.

A little further along, it’s time to cross the creek again, and this time it’s on a snow bridge. Crossing a snow bridge can be a bit risky, especially when you can clearly see the turbulent creek passing under.

Successfully across, it was time to climb. About 1 ½ miles to lake now but still 1,500 feet of gain, and the section where I’ve been turned back in the past.

Well today I was not going to be denied. Every little obstacle was vanquished, and with each step my excitement grew. As I climbed the last knoll, Aasgard Pass, Dragontail Peak, Colchuck Glacier and Colchuck Peak came into view. Woo hoo!!!!!! I’d made it to the lake! But the winter path didn’t follow the summer trail – the winter path continued straight ahead….right to the lake. And then right onto the lake! Stop, or follow in the footsteps of those who’d gone before me. I chose follow. What a feeling – walking on this frozen lake. I’ve gone swimming in these icy waters numerous times in the summer, and now I was strolling on top of the layer of ice which blanketed this gorgeous alpine lake.

I stopped to chat with a couple of guys who were camping – yes, on the lake. I asked them to keep an eye on me as I proceeded to head out further toward the middle of the lake. It’s another I can’t explain it feeling – so I won’t even try. I just know that I’ve been further empowered to do things I never thought I’d ever experience.

The surprises were about to continue as I was departing the lake. The first group of people I passed were coming up to spend the night at the lake – that is, after the wedding ceremony. Yup, they trekked up to this frozen lake to get married. Now those are my kind of people! What an experience! It was a small wedding party, but I’m quite certain a day they’ll never forget.

Shortly after that I got the final surprise of the day and another reminder of one of the great things I love about my adventures. I love the peace and quiet, and I also love the connections made with people.

As I came upon Jake, he had this look of strain on his face. Asking how much further up to the lake, he looked slightly panicked, hurried and uncertain. Turns out his fiancé Carly was just a bit further down the trail. Her feet were freezing and he was running ahead just so he could see the lake. Not quite sure this was the best decision, I quickly decided 1) not to judge, and 2) to see how I could help Carly. Jake gave me his plan and I gave him my plan of how I’d help Carly and that I’d communicate his plans to her. Just a few minutes down the trail there she was. I introduced myself and updated her quickly, and then I gave her the good news.

Every day I go out deep like this I bring a full change of clothes just in case. Well on this day I threw in a third pair of socks. Lucky day for Carly! I had already changed into my 2nd pair, but I gave her my towel to dry her freezing feet and then the extra socks for her poor feet. We had a nice conversation, and it turns out, this day was their fourth anniversary together, and they were putting the finishing touches on their wedding plans for this coming June 18th.

She tied her shoes covering her much happier feet and pressed on to go catch Jake – she told me should was going to be super disappointed in herself should she not make it to the lake. A little word of encouragement and she was on her way.

As I descended to the trailhead, I wondered again why these encounters happen. I never put a third pair of socks in my gear – why today? And did I really think I’d be walking on this amazing frozen lake today, after making the acquaintance of Mr. Coyote?

The connection in the wilderness is one of the great treasures of adventuring for me. The people I’ve met, the stories we’ve shared…..it’s human connections in the middle of nowhere which can be a real blessing. Not surprising, after a day full of surprises like today, I’ll soon be back out on a trail adventuring some more :)


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page